Center for Literary and Comparative Studies

A dynamic venue for critical and creative work at the University of Maryland, the Center for Literary and Comparative Studies sponsors lectures, symposia, conferences, readings, and other activities. For 2017-18 the Center begins the second year of its two-year theme, "Migrations."  

Fall 2017 events associated with this theme include the Petrou lecture and polyseminar given by Lisa Lowe, a conference November 10-11, 2017, organized by the Graduate Field Committee in Medieval & Early Modern Studies, "Migrations: Body, Word, and Spirit", and an undergraduate research conference December 8, 2017, coordinated by Ralph Bauer.

Spring 2018 will feature a symposium in February 2018 conducted by the Eighteenth Century Reading Group and the Marshall Grossman Lecture Series, "The Intermedia Restoration," and a conference sponsored by the Graduate Field Committee in Film Studies, "Constellations of the Political: Media and Representation in the Neoliberal Age," April 2018.

Other events throughout the year include symposia, talks, colloquia, book launches, reading group meetings, roundtables, and other events, including the acclaimed Writers Here and Now series. 

Watch for further announcements about our fall and spring funding cycles, when we will invite proposals for events to support the theme of "Migrations" in 2017-18 as well as other scholarly initiatives. Information about grant proposals is available here.

Upcoming Events

Tue Aug 22

12:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115
4:30 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Wed Aug 23

10:30 AM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Thu Aug 24

6:30 PM

Wed Sep 6

9:30 AM
Ulrich Recital Hall, 1121 Tawes Hall
10:00 AM
Third Floor Lobby and Plaza, Tawes Hall (Rain/Heat location: First Floor Lobby)

Fri Sep 8

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Thu Sep 14

10:00 AM
5:30 PM
Ulrich Recital Hall, 1121 Tawes Hall

Fri Sep 15

Thu Sep 28

Fri Sep 29

1:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3134

Fri Oct 6

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Wed Oct 11

Thu Oct 12

Fri Oct 13

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Tue Oct 17

Thu Oct 19

Fri Oct 27

1:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3134

Thu Nov 2

Wed Nov 8

Mon Nov 13

1:00 PM

Thu Nov 16

Fri Nov 17

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Fri Dec 1

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Tue Dec 5

Thu Dec 7

Fri Dec 8

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Thu Jan 18

Fri Jan 26

Fri Feb 2

Wed Feb 7

Fri Feb 9

Thu Feb 15

Fri Feb 16

9:00 AM

Fri Feb 23

Wed Mar 14

Thu Mar 15

6:30 PM

Wed Apr 4

2:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Wed Apr 11

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Thu Apr 19

6:30 PM

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM

Thu May 17

6:30 PM

News

August 8, 2017
Professor Zita Nunes received a three-year grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities
August 2, 2017
Theresa Coletti, Julius Fleming, Laura Rosenthal, and Scott Trudell met throughout the year to discuss research findings.
July 26, 2017
Join us in congratulating Emily Myrick for receiving Fugue Journal's 2017 Prose Writing Award!
July 25, 2017
Sophomore English Major Liyanga de Silva regularly publishes a column in the University of Maryland's student-run newspaper The Diamondback.
July 11, 2017
The English Department is pleased announce that six professional track faculty have been promoted to the rank of Senior Lecturer.  Please take a moment to note the impressive accomplishments of our colleagues, and continue reading to learn more about each faculy member. 
July 10, 2017
With the guidance and vision of Professor Merle Collins, students enrolled in English 361 developed narratives included in the volume CAFE CONNECTIONS.
June 22, 2017
 Joshua Weiner read in a protest event this spring at the Queens Museum in Flushing that also launched the anthology, Resist Much/Obey Little, noted in a front page New York Times article about poetry and protest in the age of Trump.   
June 21, 2017
Amanda Bailey's new book, Affect Theory and Early Modern Texts: Politics, Ecologies, and Form, co-edited with Mario DiGangi came out last month, and she was also the recipient of the College of Arts and Humanities 2017 Faculty Service Award in recognition of her service in support of the department's and college's mission and vision. 
June 21, 2017
Bob Levine is leading a seminar on Melville's Israel Potter at the  late-June international Melville conference in London, and he's speaking on Douglass at the National Archives on July 3rd. His new book, Race, Transnationalism, and Nineteenth-Century American Literary Studies, is currently in production and will be published by Cambridge UP this fall.
June 21, 2017
Brian Richardson's review of Writing the Reader by Dorothee Birke appears in the current issue of Poetics Today.
June 29, 2017
Tracy K. Smith, who read at Maryland as part of the Writers Here & Now Series, was recently named the new US Poet Laureate.
April 25, 2017
Four of our students in the English Department were selected to be Senior Marshals: Elizabeth Caldera, Casey DeFrancesco, Melissa Eck, and Emmy Schafer. These students will help lead the procession at the main campus commencement ceremony, and will also be honored at a reception.
April 21, 2017
There has never been a more important time for Terps to continue leading the way on climate action and sustainability. Protecting our Earth requires a year round commitment and Earth Day provides a unique and fun-filled opportunity to celebrate and recognize the work being done for a better planet and environment. 
March 28, 2017
The next meeting of the Washington Area Group for Print Culture Studies 2016-2017 series will take place on Friday, April 7, 2017, from 3:30 to 5:00 p.m. in the Rosenwald Room (LJ 205), 2nd floor, Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress. Dr. David Norbrook will deliver a paper titled “I write not for the presse to boast my own weaknesses to the world”: Lucy Hutchinson and the Restoration Public Sphere’.
February 14, 2017
Learn more about UMD's sustainability programs. Terps leave small footprints!
February 14, 2017
MITH and the AADHUM initiative warmly invite your participation in the annual conference of the Society for Textual Scholarship, to be held on campus, May 26 - June 2. The deadline for proposals is February 26.
November 22, 2016
Jhumpa Lahiri will  visit The Mercatus Center at George Mason University on Monday, December 5 at 6:00 PM in Founders Hall Auditorium.
November 22, 2016
That time of the year is here! Share-A-Bear (Or Any New Stuffed Animal)!
November 18, 2016
Deadline: December 1, 2016 - 8:00 PM, EDT. Qualifications only (not proposals).
November 18, 2016
The next meeting of the Washington Area Group for Print Culture Studies 2016-2017 series will take place on Friday, November 18th, from 3:30 to 5:00 p.m. in the Rosenwald Room (LJ 205), 2nd floor, Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress. Drs. Holly Peppe and Tim Jackson will  discuss their recent edited collection: Selected Poems of Edna St. Vincent Millay: An Annotated Edition.”
August 8, 2017
Professor Zita Nunes received a three-year grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities
August 2, 2017
Theresa Coletti, Julius Fleming, Laura Rosenthal, and Scott Trudell met throughout the year to discuss research findings.
July 26, 2017
Join us in congratulating Emily Myrick for receiving Fugue Journal's 2017 Prose Writing Award!
July 25, 2017
Sophomore English Major Liyanga de Silva regularly publishes a column in the University of Maryland's student-run newspaper The Diamondback.
July 11, 2017
The English Department is pleased announce that six professional track faculty have been promoted to the rank of Senior Lecturer.  Please take a moment to note the impressive accomplishments of our colleagues, and continue reading to learn more about each faculy member. 
July 10, 2017
With the guidance and vision of Professor Merle Collins, students enrolled in English 361 developed narratives included in the volume CAFE CONNECTIONS.
June 22, 2017
 Joshua Weiner read in a protest event this spring at the Queens Museum in Flushing that also launched the anthology, Resist Much/Obey Little, noted in a front page New York Times article about poetry and protest in the age of Trump.   
June 21, 2017
Amanda Bailey's new book, Affect Theory and Early Modern Texts: Politics, Ecologies, and Form, co-edited with Mario DiGangi came out last month, and she was also the recipient of the College of Arts and Humanities 2017 Faculty Service Award in recognition of her service in support of the department's and college's mission and vision. 
June 21, 2017
Bob Levine is leading a seminar on Melville's Israel Potter at the  late-June international Melville conference in London, and he's speaking on Douglass at the National Archives on July 3rd. His new book, Race, Transnationalism, and Nineteenth-Century American Literary Studies, is currently in production and will be published by Cambridge UP this fall.
June 21, 2017
Brian Richardson's review of Writing the Reader by Dorothee Birke appears in the current issue of Poetics Today.