Academics

Academics

News

February 15, 2018
The English Department is delighted to announce that Professor David Simon will be joining us this fall as Assistant Professor of English at the University of Maryland.
February 6, 2018
John Macintosh recently presented two papers, “Abstraction and/as Catachresis in Don DeLillo’s Cosmopolis” at Intersections of Finance and Society at City College London, and “Who Is Precarious Now?” at the Modern Language Association's 2018 convention.
February 6, 2018
Jonathan Williams's article, "Deathly Sentimentalism: Sarah Fielding, Henry Mackenzie," is in print in Eighteenth-Century Fiction 30.2 (Winter 2017-2018).
February 6, 2018
Some of Joshua Weiner's "Trumpoems" showed up in Lana Turner, the journal edited by Calvin Bedient, as well as in Tikkun magazine, and the journal, Scoundrel Time, which can be viewed here.
February 6, 2018
Peter Witte's drawings were published on The Florida Review's "Aquifer." The drawings, excerpted from Peter's project called "After Kafka," explore and are inspired by Franz Kafka's shorter works.
February 6, 2018
Robert Lucci will present his paper “Staring Down the Panopticon: Surveillance and Resisting the Controls of Whiteness, Chester Himes and If He Hollers, Let Him Go” at both the Frederick Douglass Institute’s 2018 Bicentennial Conference and the 2018 MELUS conference.
February 5, 2018
The D.C. Bar chose a Mock Trial Problem written by Robin Earnest for its 2018 competition. The Problem, entitled, Rally v. Riot: When Words Ignite, involves an analysis of potential First Amendment, and related violations, resulting from a school rally turned riotous. The mock trial will be conducted by the Bar on March 17, 2018.
February 5, 2018
Students from the ENGL393Q Technical Writing Service-Learning course will be working with with NASA Goddard Space Flight Center on two writing projects as part of NASA's educational outreach. Students will be creating content for the NASA Visualization Explorer and for Earthzine, a joint venture between NASA and IEEE. Successful projects will result in publication of materials for the students and content for NASA's programs. 
February 5, 2018
Joseph Good recently published "Review: 'South Asian in the Mid-South: Migrations of Literacies' by Iswari P.Pandey" Reflections, vol 17.2 (December 2017)
February 5, 2018
The world premiere of Wild Nights with Emily!, a film featuring Molly Shannon (“Saturday Night Live,” “Divorce” and much more) for which Martha Nell Smith serves as a consultant and which draws heavily on her books Open Me Carefully: Emily Dickinson’s Intimate Letters to Susan Dickinson and Rowing in Eden: Rereading Emily Dickinson, and on her archival work, will be featured at SXSW on March 10. Director Madeleine Olnek has received numerous awards, and the film-in-progress won the top prize at the Champs-Elysées Film Festival in Paris in early July. https://schedule.sxsw.com/2018/films/122607

Upcoming Events

Tue Feb 20

Thu Feb 22

2:00 PM

Wed Feb 28

4:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Mar 2

3:00 PM

Thu Mar 8

10:30 AM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Mar 9

Sat Mar 10

9:00 AM

Wed Mar 14

4:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Fri Mar 30

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Thu Apr 12

10:30 AM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM

Wed Apr 25

4:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM
3:00 PM

Wed May 9

2:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Thu Nov 8

Fri Nov 9