People

News

January 9, 2018
Congratuations to alumna Joelle Biele on her latest publication Tramp: Poems, forthcoming from Louisiana State University Press. 
December 20, 2017
The Modern Language Association's Annual Convention is being held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from January 4th through the 7th. Those presenting from the Department include faculty members and graduate students. 
December 7, 2017
Professor Howard Norman's latest novel My Darling Detective was included on NPR's 2017 "Best Books" list. The book wasrecommended by Robert Siegal, host of All Things Considered. 
November 28, 2017
Please join us in congratulating Doug Kern and Jess Enoch, the first recipients of the John Long Innovative Teaching Award!  Each award is $1500. 
November 28, 2017
Congratulations to Professor Josh Weiner, Professor Gabrielle Fuentes, and Professor Randy Ontiveros for receicing Creative and Performing Arts and Research and Scholarship Awards from the Graduate School for 2018-19. Continue reading to learn more about their projects. 
October 26, 2017
With Julie Enszer (Maryland MFA; Maryland WMST PhD), Martha Nell Smith has coedited Everywoman Her Own Theology: On the Poetry of Alicia Ostriker (forthcoming U of Michigan Press Fall 2018).
October 25, 2017
Brian Richardson published “The Paradoxical Paradigm of Unnatural Narrative Theory,” in Emerging Vectors in Narratology, eds. Per Krogh Hansen, John Pier, and Wolf Schmid. His interview with Minrui Li was published in Foreign Literature Studies. His essay, “Silence, Progression, and Narrative Collapse in Conrad’s Plots,” was the runner up for the J. H. Stape award for the year’s best essay in Conradiana. He delivered a paper on “The Material Book and the Scene of Reading in To the Lighthouse” at the International Virginia Woolf Conference in Reading (UK) in July. He also evaluated the work of doctoral students and an international doctoral program in comparative literature based at the University of Lisbon.
October 25, 2017
Cameron Mozafari and Michael Israel presented a paper, "More than a Feeling: Frame Metonymy and Cultural Scripts in Persuasive Communication," at the 14th International Cognitive Linguistics Conference, held in Tartu, Estonia.  The talk uses classical rhetorical concepts, corpus methods, and Cognitive Grammar to model how rhetors coordinate evaluations and beliefs with their audiences to make them recognize cultural knowledge about what makes people emotional. Cameron was also nominated for and accepted the position of Junior Scholar on the International Cognitive Linguistics Association governing board.
October 25, 2017
 Chuck Caramello recently published the monograph, Research Ethics Education for Graduate International Collaborations in the Council of Graduate Schools "best practices" monograph series. Chuck is currently John H. Daniels Fellow at the National Sporting Library and Museum in Middleburg, VA, where he is editing a volume of two 18C treatises on military equitation and working on a collection of essays on cavalry and the Great War.
October 25, 2017
Faculty, students, and alumni gavepapers at the October Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference at the University of Dayton. 

Upcoming Events

Thu Jan 25

5:30 PM
10427 North Street, Fairfax, VA

Fri Jan 26

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 2

3:00 PM

Wed Feb 7

7:00 PM

Fri Feb 9

Tue Feb 13

12:30 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Feb 16

9:00 AM
3:00 PM

Fri Feb 23

Fri Mar 2

3:00 PM

Fri Mar 9

Sat Mar 10

9:00 AM

Wed Mar 14

Fri Mar 30

3:00 PM

Tue Apr 3

Wed Apr 4

1:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Sat Apr 7

Wed Apr 11

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM

Wed Apr 18

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM
3:00 PM

Wed May 9

2:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Thu Nov 8

Fri Nov 9