People

News

July 24, 2018
The John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress sponsors the annual fellowship in Digital Studies to support scholars exploring how “groundbreaking technological innovations” can serve as “agents of broad and profound [societal] change.”  The 11-month residency, established in 2000, aims to bridge the gap between academia and government and to help the library chart new directions in scholarly research. 
May 31, 2018
Baltimore Pride will screen Wild Nights With Emily, a new film about Emily Dickinson, which draws heavily from our own Martha Nell Smith's work on Dickinson. Smith, who acted as a consultant on the film, will join the writer/director Madeleine Olnek for a Q&A after the showing. Olnek dedicated her award-winning film to Smith, noting that it is her "scholarship [that] helped bring the relationship between Susan and Emily to light."
May 21, 2018
Bill Peterson's article "William Pickering and the Quakers" will appear in the June issue of Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America. It is an account of the Quaker background (hitherto unknown) of one of the most important English publishers of the nineteenth century.
May 21, 2018
Maud Casey's essay "The Museum of 'Please Find Me'" appeared in The New York Times and her essay "A Speck in the Universe: On Voyage of Time" will appear as part of New England Review's upcoming Terrence Malick supplement.
May 21, 2018
Stanford University Press is publishing Tita Chico's new book, The Experimental Imagination: Literary Knowledge and Science in the British Enlightenment, which tells the story of how literariness came to be distinguished from its epistemological sibling, science, as a source of truth about the natural and social worlds in the British Enlightenment. This spring, Tita was invited to speak at Kings' College London (UK), the University of Kent (UK), the University of California, Berkeley, and Indiana University, and she also presented new work on mathematics and the periodical press at ASECS.
May 19, 2018
Sangeeta Ray attended a few conferences and gave a couple of talks in AY 2017-18. In September 2017 she went to the English Institute conference on Scale at The University of California, Irvine in her continuing role as a member of the Supervisory Board. In October 2017 she presented a paper at the ASAP conference in Oakland, CA on a roundtable on the "Greatest American Novel of the 21st century" alongside Professor Lee Konstantinou. In November 2017, she was a respondent at the "Reading the Indian Ocean: A Global Humanities Seminar," at Georgetown University. In January , 2018 she cycled off as the Ex-President of the 20th and 21st century Comparative Literature at the MLA Forum. In February, 2018 she gave a plenary talk along with 6 other international speakers on the "Global Novel" in a conference at the University of North Bengal, Siliguri, India, "Do the Humanities Matter?" In February she was apart of a faculty panel for the Graduate Students'Conference at Georgetown University on "The New Biopolitics." In March she was part of the plenary panel at our GEO conference on "Formations: Intersections of Form Across the Literary, Social and Political." In March she also presented a paper at the ACLA conference in Los Angeles, in a seminar on "The African Literary Field: Imagining Five Years Forward." In April she gave a plenary talk at the Université de Montréal, titled "Reading for Form in the Anthropocene," at a conference on "Planetary Cultural and Literary Studies: New Epistemologies and Relational Futures in the Age of the Anthropocene." She is presenting a paper at the Novel conference at Cornell University in June 2018.
April 10, 2018
Joshua Weiner's chapbook, "Everything I Do I Do Good: Trumpoems" is now available as a free pdf download and a virtual flipbook on the Dispatches website.
April 3, 2018
This distinction honors faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements, as well as exemplary contributions as teachers and leaders in their respective field.
March 15, 2018
The Department of English is delighted to announce Kim Coles has been selected for an Arcan Semester Research Award for fall 2018. This semester leave from teaching and administrative responsibilities aims to support faculty at the rank of associate professor, with preference given to those for whom the completion of a major project will lead to promotion to full professor. 
March 13, 2018
The English Department is delighted to announce that Professor Chad Infante will be joining us this fall as Assistant Professor of English at the University of Maryland. 

Upcoming Events

Fri Aug 31

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Fri Sep 7

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room TBD

Thu Sep 13

3:30 PM
Gildenhorn Recital Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

Fri Sep 14

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room TBD

Fri Sep 21

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Tue Sep 25

Wed Sep 26

7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Fri Sep 28

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room TBD

Fri Oct 5

3:00 PM

Fri Oct 12

9:00 AM
TBD Tawes Hall
3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Wed Oct 17

6:30 PM
Special Events Room, 6137 McKeldin Libraries

Fri Oct 19

3:00 PM

Mon Oct 29

Tue Oct 30

Wed Oct 31

9:00 AM

Fri Nov 2

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Wed Nov 7

Fri Nov 9

Thu Nov 15

Fri Nov 16

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room TBD

Fri Nov 30

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room TBD

Wed Dec 5

7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Fri Dec 7

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Wed Feb 13

7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Tue Feb 26

Wed Mar 13

Tue Mar 26

Wed Apr 10

7:00 PM

Thu Apr 25

Fri Apr 26

Tue Apr 30

Fri May 3

10:00 AM
Tawes Hall