Announcing Prizes, Awards, and Fellowships for Faculty and Graduate Students

May 14, 2015

The following is a list of prizes, awards, and fellowships collected by the faculty and graduate students this spring. Congratulations to all!

Faculty awards
Chanon Adsanatham won the 2015 James Berlin Memorial Outstanding Dissertation Award from the Conference on College Composition and Communication for his thesis from Miami University on conduct rhetoric in the Thai rhetorical tradition.

Maud Casey won a 2015 fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Stanley Plumly has been named winner of the 2015 Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism for his book The Immortal Evening: A Legendary Dinner with Keats, Wordsworth, and Lamb. The $30,000 award is the largest annual cash prize in English-language literary criticism and is administered for the Truman Capote Estate by the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop (

Joshua Weiner is the first research associate awardee in a new faculty development program of the Institute for the International Education of Students, allowing him to spend a month in Berlin next fall at the IES Berlin Center. 

Graduate student awards

Sarah Bonnie was awarded a Kwiatek Summer Fellowship and a Graduate School ALL-STAR fellowship.

Virginia Butler was awarded a Graduate School Summer Fellowship.

Elizabeth DePriest was awarded a Wylie Dissertation Completion Fellowship and an internal summer fellowship.

Audrey Farley was awarded an internal summer fellowship.

Nathan Tillman was awarded a Kwiatek Summer Fellowship.

Robert Wakeman was awarded a Graduate Dean's Fellowship.

Jonathan Williams was awarded an ARHU Snouffer Fellowship.

Five doctoral students are receiving TA enhancement grants provided by the Graduate School: Emilee Durand, Jeremy Metz, Emily Yoon Perez, Nicholas Slaughter, and Nathaniel Underland.

Katherine Kaczmarek will represent the University of Maryland at the Universitas 21 Graduate Research Conference on Digital Futures, to be held at the Shanghai Jiao Tong University in China this summer.

The Alice Geyer Dissertation Prize for British literature went to Michelle Boswell.

The Carl Bode Dissertation Prize for American literature went to Lindsay Dunn Jacoby.

The John Kinnaird Essay Award for a doctoral student went to Jeffrey Griswold.

The John Kinnaird Essay Award for an MA student went to John Arthur Schulz.

Niloo Sarabi won the Comparative Literature Essay Contest.

The James A. Robinson Awards for Excellence in Teaching went to Elise Auvil and Cameron Mozafari.

Ines Rivera won an Outstanding GA award from the Graduate School.

Congratulations to all on their extraordinary accomplishments!