Celebration of Scholarship and Research Day

May 7, 2013

An informal reception hosted by Provost Rankin and and Vice President O'Shea was held May 1 to celebrate the scholarly research accomplishments of faculty over the past year. An impressive list of faculty from the Department of English were among those recognized.

Professor Jonathan Auerbach published Dark Borders: Film Noir and American Citizenship (Duke University Press, 2011).

Professor Vincent Carretta published Phillis Wheatley: Biography of a Genius in Bondage (University of Georgia Press, 2011).

Professor Kent Cartwright was elected to a three-year term on the executive committee of the Association of Departments of English (ADE).

Professor Merle Collins published The Ladies Are Upstairs (stories; Peepal Tree Press, 2011).

Professor Jane Donawerth published Conversational Rhetoric: The Rise and Fall of a Women's Tradition, 1600 to 1900 (Southern Illinois University Press, 2011), which will be issued in paperback this spring.

Professor Jessica Enoch's essay "There's No Place Like the Childcare Center: A Feminist Analysis of 'Home' in the World War II Era" was selected by the Rhetoric Review editorial board as the winner of the Theresa J. Enos Anniversary Award for the Best Essay of 2012.

Emerita Professor Jeanne Fahnestock was awarded the 2012 Book Award from the Rhetoric Society of America (RSA) for her book Rhetorical Style: The Uses of Language in Persuasion (Oxford University Press, 2011). She was also named a Fellow of the Rhetoric Society of America.

Professor Neil Fraistat was a co-editor of The Complete Poetry of Percy Bysshe Shelley, vol. 3, which was selected as the winner of the 2013 Richard J. Finneran Award, presented every two years by the Society for Textual Scholarship for the outstanding edition or book on editorial theory published over the past two years.

Professor Michael Israel published The Grammar of Polarity: Pragmatics, Sensitivity, and the Logic of Scales (Cambridge University Press, 2011).

Professor Robert Levine was awarded a Fellowship for University Teachers from the National Endowment for the Humanities as well as a Guggenheim Fellowship for the 2012-2013 academic year. He is at work on a book, The Lives of Frederick Douglass, which is under contract with Harvard University Press.

Professor Peter Mallios's book Our Conrad: Constituting American Modernity (Stanford University Press, 2010) was awarded the Adam Gillon Book Award by the Joseph Conrad Society of America, a prize for the best book written on Conrad 2009-2011.

Professor Gerard Passannante published The Lucretian Renaissance: Philology and the Afterlife of Tradition (University of Chicago Press, 2011).

Professor Carla Peterson's book Black Gotham: A Family History of African Americans in Nineteenth-Century New York City (Yale University Press, 2011) won the 2011 New York City Book Award for History, sponsored by the New York Society Library, and was named a finalist for the 2012 Frederick Douglass Prize given by the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition.

Professor Sangeeta Ray was appointed to a three-year term on the board of supervisors of the English Institute at Harvard University.

Professor Brian Richardson co-authored Narrative Theory: Core Concepts and Critical Debates (Ohio State University Press, 2012), which was selected by Choice as an Outstanding Academic Title.

Professor Vessela Valiavitcharska received a year-long Fellowship for University Teachers from the National Endowment for the Humanities for 2013-14.

Professor Orrin Wang's book Romantic Sobriety: Sensation, Revolution, Commodification, History (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2011) won the 2011 Jean-Pierre Barricelli Prize for the year's best book in Romanticism.

Professor Josh Weiner won the Amy Lowell Traveling Scholarship, administered by Harvard University, to support his poetic work.