Accolades Bestowed on Faculty!

December 6, 2012

Congratulations to Cartwright, Collier, Enoch, Harrison, Mallios, Ray, and Valiavitcharska for recent awards!

They are listed here in alphabetical order by recipient.

Kent Cartwright has been elected to a three-year term on the executive committee of the Association of Departments of English (ADE).

Michael Collier was appointed to the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation's Educational Advisory Board to serve a term from June 2012-2016.

Jessica Enoch's essay "There's No Place Like the Childcare Center: A Feminist Analysis of <Home> in the World War II Era" was selected by the Rhetoric Review editorial board as the winner of the Theresa J. Enos Anniversary Award for the Best Essay of 2012.

Reggie Harrison won a semester Research and Scholarship Award (RASA) for 2013-14 from the Graduate School (this is in addition to the previously announced semester awards won by Kent Cartwright and Brian Richardson).

Peter Mallios's 2010 book, Our Conrad: Constituting American Modernity, has been awarded the Adam Gillon Book Award by the Joseph Conrad Society of America, a prize for the best book written on Conrad 2009-2011.

Sangeeta Ray was appointed to a three-year term on the board of supervisors of the English Institute at Harvard University.

Vessela Valiavitcharska has received a year-long fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities.