Department News

May 16, 2018
Professor Matthew Kirschenbaum receives the Kandice Chuh Mentorship Award during GEO spring ceremony
May 15, 2018
Emeritus Professor of English and poet Rod Jellema passed away in Washington, DC, at the age of 91 on Friday, May 11. Rod, who had a D. Phil. from the University of Edinburgh, joined the Department in 1955 and taught for nearly forty years before retiring in 1992. He was the founding director of the creative writing program as well as the founding organizer of Writers Here and Now.
May 14, 2018
The first round of CLCS grants have been awarded to projects to be held during the 2018-2019 academic year. 
May 9, 2018
The Creative Writing Program is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Academy of American Poets Poetry Prize and Katherine Anne Porter Fiction Prize.
May 3, 2018
On brief before the D.C. Court of Appeals, and with the expert assistance of a Writing Center tutor, Earnest was able to parse through a difficult legal passage and convince the court to vacate its initial conviction. Thank you Writing Center!
May 2, 2018
Senior Lecturer Justin Lohr has been selected to receive the Provost's Excellence Award for Professional Track Faculty in the area of teaching.
May 1, 2018
David Biespiel was a finalist for the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing from National Book Critics Circle Award. The other finalists were Maureen Corrigan, Ruth Franklin, James Marcus. The winner, Charles Finch.
May 1, 2018
Congratulations to Laura Neal, who was recently awarded a fellowship to the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, MA.
April 30, 2018
Professor Julius Flemmings receives the Nancy Weiss Malkei Scholar award and the Emerging Scholar Award from the Comparative and International Education Society.
April 23, 2018
The MFA Program in Creative Writing is pleased to announce the winners of our annual thesis awards in fiction and poetry.