Spring 2013 Bywords

May 23, 2013
Congratulations to Professor Marilee Lindemann, who has been awarded the Kirwan Undergraduate Education Award for 2013.
May 22, 2013
Jamie Lee's remarks concerning the value of her English major are here:
May 22, 2013
It is with great pleasure that the Department of English announces the following tenure and promotion news.
May 17, 2013
The English Department is delighted to announce the following placements of recent PhDs in 2013.
May 15, 2013
Congratulations to Christina Walter and Vessela Valiavitcharska, winners of this year's GEO Faculty Awards.
May 9, 2013
It is with great pleasure that the Department announces the recipients of the various graduate fellowships and awards for the next academic year.
May 8, 2013
The MFA Program in Creative Writing is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Academy of American Poets Poetry Prize and the Katherine Anne Porter Fiction Prize.
May 8, 2013
Congratulations to Amanda Bailey on the publication of her new book, Of Bondage: Debt, Property, and Personhood in Early Modern England.
May 7, 2013
An informal reception hosted by Provost Rankin and and Vice President O'Shea was held May 1 to celebrate the scholarly research accomplishments of faculty over the past year. An impressive list of faculty from the Department of English were among those recognized.
May 3, 2013
The Program in Comparative Literature is pleased to recognize Martin as the winner of the second annual John Fuegi Essay Contest.
May 1, 2013
Congratulations to seven of Justin Lohr's former ENGL 101 students who are participating in the University's Undergraduate Research Day on Wednesday, May 1.
May 1, 2013
The museum will be the site of a poetry reading by Stanley Plumly, Poet Laureate of Maryland.
April 30, 2013
For the second year in a row, an English major is the recipient of the University Medal.
April 29, 2013
Professor Sangeeta Ray has received the inaugural campus-wide Outstanding Director of Graduate Studies Award for 2013.
April 28, 2013
Matthew Kirschenbaum was invited to speak at many conferences, including a talk at Beinecke Library's 50th anniversary conference and a Presidental panel at MLA. An excerpt from Matthew's book in progress also appeared online in Slate.
April 23, 2013
Congratulations to Alexander J. Clayborne, who was named one of three Harris scholarships winners. A.J. is an English and Classics double major, and will attend Harvard Law School next fall.
April 22, 2013
On May 20, Michael Olmert is being presented with the annual Heritage Award from the Historical Society of Talbot County, Maryland.
April 18, 2013
Congratulations to the Academic Writing Program and Professional Writing Program in the Department of English, which have been jointly named the recipient of the Departmental Award for Excellence and Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching for the 2012-2013 academic year.
April 17, 2013
Congratulations to Jerry Passannante, who has won a residential fellowship at the Bogliasco Foundation for next fall.
April 15, 2013
Last week's GEO Conference, (Dis)realities and the Literary and Cultural Imagination, was a wild success, with enthusiastic participants, compelling papers, and generous intellectual exchange.
April 15, 2013
Congratulations to Chris Brown, who has been awarded an American Council of Learned Societies New Faculty Fellowship and has accepted an appointment in the Department of English and the Center for African American Studies at Princeton University.
April 11, 2013
Professor Joshua Weiner is a 2013 recipient of a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Congratulations to Josh on this wonderful accolade!
April 10, 2013
Congratulations to Howard Norman, whose newest book, "I Hate To Leave This Beautiful Place," received a starred review in this week's Kirkus Reviews.
April 10, 2013
Congratulations to Leigh Ryan, who will receive the St. George's Day Award from the Prince George's County Historical Society on April 21, 2013.