Spring 2014 Commencement

The English Department's Spring Commencement Ceremony began at 9:00 am on Friday, May 23, 2014.  Graduates and their families gathered at the Reckord Armory to celebrate the accomplishments of 165 undergraduates, 25 creative writing minors, 23 masters, and 14 doctoral students.

If you weren't able to attend, below are a few highlights of the ceremony:

Dean Bonnie Thornton Dill opens the ceremony, greeting students, family, and friends. English graduates process in for the ceremony.

Our graduates!

Dr. Ralph Bauer, Graduate Director, undergraduate speaker Brittany Boyd, and Dr. Bill Cohen, Chair of the English Department, on stage as the ceremony begins. Brittany Boyd,  Sigma Tau Delta member, gives the student address to her fellow graduates.
Dr. Bill Cohen, Chair of the English Department, welcomes attendees and opens the presentation of English degrees. Dr. Randy Ontiveros, Honors Director, presenting the graduating Honors Students.
Dr. Ralph Bauer, Graduate Director, introducing doctoral and masters candidates. Dr. Joshua Weiner awarding the graduating Creative Writing Minors with certificates.
Dr. Thomas Moser, Undergraduate Director, presenting the undergraduate degrees. Dr. Moser with Abigail Shantzis, winner of the Joyce Tayloe Horrell Award for the most academically distinguished graduating English major.

Congratulations to the 2014 Graduates!