Dissertation Fellowships

This application is valid for the following dissertation fellowship competitions: Harman-Ward Dissertation Fellowship, Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship, and the Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship.  Please note that the deadlines for this application are prior to listed fellowship deadlines on the Graduate School and ARHU websites, as we need time to evaluate your applications to decide which students are going to be nominated for different fellowships.

All those interested in applying for the aforementioned dissertation fellowship competitions must have advanced to candidacy and have submitted an approved copy of his or her prospectus. Applicants are asked to submit one application for nomination and/or support consideration by the Graduate Studies Committee (“GSC”). This procedure will allow the GSC to match applicants to the fellowship competitions appropriately, and to distribute resources among graduate students as widely as possible. Once the GSC has made its selections, students and advisors will be asked to revise/edit their materials to make them specific to a particular competition.

Application Process

The applications must include the following:

   1. The application cover sheet (download Word form);

   2. A 500-word abstract of the dissertation written for a general audience. The abstract should include: a) the title; b) a description of the study; c) the significance of the study; and d) sources of information or data, if applicable.

   3. A one-page statement of work completed to date, work remaining, timeline, and expected date of completion;

   4. A C.V. of no more than 2 pages

   5. A letter from the dissertation director. This letter should address the student’s outstanding qualifications, the significance of the student’s scholarship or research, and an account of how this fellowship would have an impact on the student’s ability to progress toward his or her degree in a timely way. This letter should be submitted electronically to the graduate coordinator (hdias@umd.edu).

Please electronically submit all of the documents requested to the Graduate Coordinator, Heather Dias (hdias@umd.edu) by no later than January 15.

Dissertation Fellowships

Harman-Ward Dissertation Fellowship
Eligibility: ENGL PhD students
Amount: $18,000 for an academic year (9.5 months)

This fellowship was established in honor of two former professors in the English department, Susan E. Harman, who retired in 1961, and Kathryn Painter Ward, who retired in 1977. The award provides fellowship support for an academic year (9.5 months) and carries a stipend of $18,000. It is awarded by the department to an ENGL PhD candidate pursuing a dissertation that focuses on one of these fields: medieval literature, linguistics, eighteenth-century literature, or colonial American drama.

Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship
Eligibility: ENGL and CMLT PhD students (nominations to the Graduate School)
Amount: $15,000 for one semester

Each year, the Graduate School awards numerous Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowships. The fellowships provide support for one semester. They carry a stipend of $15,000 and fellows receive candidacy tuition remission and a credit for mandatory fees. Please note the Snouffer no longer provides health insurance coverage; however, recipients may file a health insurance reimbursement request of up to $1,000 (reimbursement does not include family plans). They are intended for students who are in the final stages of writing their dissertations and criteria includes the likelihood of the student’s finishing the dissertation during the fellowship year.

Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship
Eligibility: ENGL and CMLT PhD students (nominations to the College of Arts and Humanities)
Amount: $20,000 for an academic year (9.5- month)

The Mary S. Snouffer Scholarship Fund supports up to four fellowships for qualified students pursuing the doctorate within any discipline in the humanities, including the study of language, literature, culture, philosophy, history or the arts. Preference will be given to students in English; scholarships can be awarded to students in other disciplines within the humanities. Recipients of the scholarship shall be selected by a committee appointed by the Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities. Criteria for selection shall be based upon both academic merit and need. Each department should put forward its very best candidate and no department should submit more than three nominations. Proposals should be written with a non-specialist audience in mind. The successful applicant must be a graduate student who has reached the dissertation stage and must have completed all course work and passed the qualifying examination for the doctorate degree. Students receiving the Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship are expected to enroll full-time and to devote full time to work on their dissertation. The academic year (9.5- month) stipend for the Mary Savage Snouffer Dissertation Fellowship is currently $20,000 and includes tuition remission for up to 6 credit hours (this amount does not cover health benefits and is not tax exempt).