Teaching Excellence Award

The English department calls for nominations for its Teaching Excellence Award each spring.

Qualifications and Nominations

  • Nominees must be professional track faculty (lecturers, senior lecturers, or principal lecturers) who have taught in the English department for at least four consecutive semesters, inclusive of the current semester, with no minimum number of courses required
  • Self-nominations are encouraged

To Apply

Nominees should submit the following materials:

  • A one-page statement of teaching philosophy that includes evidence of a teaching innovation
  • A curriculum vitae
  • A single representative syllabus that includes the sequence of assignments
  • The designation of two individual courses, selected by the nominee and identified by semester and section, for which student course evaluations will be retrieved
  • Name and contact information for one reference who has knowledge of the nominee’s teaching abilities

The deadline for AY 2018-2019 is Thursday, April 18, 2019.  Application materials should be sent to Jennifer Greenwell in the Main English Office: jgreenw@umd.edu

Review of Applications

Submissions will be judged by a selection committee made up of a senior lecturer or a past award winner (after the first year), the associate chair, the director of academic writing, and the director of professional writing.

Recognition will be awarded to two professional track faculty per year at the English department’s spring reception, with a $250 prize and a certificate of excellence.

Past Winners

2019 Winners

  • Caroline Wilkins
  • Blake Wilder

2018 Winners

  • Ross Angelella
  • John Kim

2017 Winners

  • Catherine Bayly
  • Maggie Ray

2016 Winners

  • Doug Kern
  • Justin Lohr
  • Marybeth Shea

2015 Winners

  • Alexandra Calloway
  • Lyra Hilliard