Our Faculty

Faculty Bookshelf

Co-Editor,The Cambridge Companion to Textual Scholarship
Cambridge University Press,2013
Co-Editor,The Complete Poetry of Percy Bysshe Shelley, vol. 3
Johns Hopkins University Press,2012
,Romantic Sobriety: Sensation, Revolution, Commodification, History
The Johns Hopkins University Press,2011
Author,Electric Meters: Victorian Physiological Poetics
Ohio University/Swallow Press,2009
,Fantastic Modernity: Dialectical Readings in Romanticism and Theory
Johns Hopkins University Press,2000

Upcoming Events

Sat Oct 15


May 25, 2016
Three faculty members have been selected for the English department's second annual Teaching Excellence Awards for Professional Track Faculty. The recipients of the 2016 awards are Doug Kern, Justin Lohr, and Marybeth Shea.
May 19, 2016
Jeremy Metz's (Ph.D. Candidate in Comparative Literature) short biography of Yanick Lahens, prominent Haitian novelist and essayist, appears in the just-published The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography (DCALAB), edited by Franklin W. Knight and Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
May 19, 2016
As a guest of Hamilton College’s DHi, on April 14th Martha Nell Smith delivered a lecture to the college, “Diversity is Not a Luxury in DH: Institutional and Individual Challenges.” The next day she led a seminar, “Queering the Archives,” for faculty of the College.
May 18, 2016
Congratulations to our graduate students on their awards and accomplishments.
May 18, 2016
Joshua Weiner was in Berlin in April, adding to the Berlin Notebook, which the Los Angeles Review of Books will publish this summer as an e-book.  In May he gave poetry readings in London and Prague (Anglo-American U.); he delivered a talk titled, "The Berlin Notebook: Poetry, Politics, Ethics" (University of Warsaw); and another one, titled, "Rock Creek: Poetics of Personal Epic" (Göttingen University). Pages from the Berlin Notebook will appear this summer in "The Threepenny Review" and "B O D Y". 
May 18, 2016
This semester, Julius Fleming, Jr. was awarded the Carter G. Woodson Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Virginia. He also delivered an invited lecture at Princeton University, and will give a talk at the International James Baldwin Conference in Paris, France next week. 
May 16, 2016
Bill Peterson (emeritus) spoke about the history of the Kelmscott Press Chaucer on May 11 at the University of Delaware Library.
May 16, 2016
Cameron Mozafari co-led a half-day workshop titled "Corpus-Based Approaches to Writing" at the 2016 Conference on College Composition and Communication. The well-received workshop demonstrated how corpus-linguistic methods can be a useful tool both in- and outside of the classroom for researching and teaching first-year academic writing.Cameron will also present a paper titled "The Cognitive Rhetoric of Emotions" at the Biennial Rhetoric Society of America Conference. This work brings together classical theories of emotion arousal in persuasive discourse with cognitive linguistic methods and insights from cognitive science to begin to describe the ways speakers and writers use language to motivate changes in audiences' feelings.
May 16, 2016
Chris Philpot has poems ("I'm Not Crying You're Crying" and "Genre Fiction") in issue 29 of Columbia Poetry Review. In March Chris presented a paper (Diva Worship as a Queer Poetics of Waste in D. Gilson's Brit Lit) at the National Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association's Annual Conference.
May 16, 2016
Elizabeth Arnold has a longish sequence of poems coming out in Chicago Review this summer. It's a central part of her next book, Skeleton Coast, which is set to appear from Flood Editions at the end of this year.