Creative Writing

Our Faculty

Faculty Bookshelf

W.W. Norton,2015
cover of "The Man Who Walked Away"
Author,The Man Who Walked Away: A Novel
Bloomsbury USA,2014
I Hate to Leave This Beautiful Place
The Figure of a Man Being Swallowed by a Fish
The University of Chicago Press,2012
An Individual History
W. W. Norton & Company,2012
Orphan Hours
W. W. Norton & Company,2012
Author,What is Left the Daughter
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,2010
Flood Editions,2010
Editor,At the Barriers: On the Poetry of Thom Gunn
University of Chicago Press,2009
The Last Summer of the World: A Novel
W. W. Norton & Company,2008
Posthumous Keats: A Personal Biography
W. W. Norton,2008
Make Us Wave Back
University of Michigan Press,2007
The Haunting of L.
Farrar, Strauss, and Giroux,2007
Houghton Mifflin,2007
Flood Editions,2006
From the Book of Giants
Dark Wild Realm
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,2006
In Fond Remembrance of Me
Argument & Song: Sources and Silences in Poetry
William Morrow,2002
The Chauffeur
The Northern Lights
Now That My Father Lies Down Beside Me: New and Selected Poems, 1970-2000
The World's Room
University of Chicago Press,2001
The Shape of Things to Come
William Morrow,2001
The Ledge
Houghton Mifflin,2000
The Museum Guard
The Reef
University of Chicago Press,1999
The Neighbor
University of Chicago Press,1995

Upcoming Events

Wed May 6

Thu May 7

8:00 PM
St. Mary's Hall


April 30, 2015
We are sorry to report that Morris Freedman, professor emeritus and former chair of the English department, passed away on April 27, 2015. He was 94.
April 29, 2015
The Diamondback has published a story on Maud Casey's Guggenheim Fellowship.
April 28, 2015
What type of person would be brave enough to write a 50,000 word manuscript in one week? A 2014 University of Maryland English Alum!
April 22, 2015
Stacia Odenwald, a rising senior in Architecture, Planning & Preservation, was recently chosen as a 2015-2016 Philip Merrill Presidential scholar and has named Professor David Wyatt as the faculty mentor who has made the most impact on her academic achievement.
April 21, 2015
Department alum, Jason Reynolds, recently participated in the Creative Arts Teen Summit at the University of Arizona.
April 21, 2015
Graduate students Cameron Mozafari and Elise Auvil are the winners of this year's James A. Robinson awards for excellence in teaching by graduate students. Congratulations, Cameron and Elise! 
April 21, 2015
Three undergraduates, Robert Tully, Lenaya Stewart, and Xiuyu Shen, are recognized by the Library Award for Undergraduate Resesarch Committee and the University of Maryland Libraries.
April 21, 2015
Following the celebration of Virginia Beauchamp's work at the University, the Greenbelt News Review published an article highlighting Beauchamp's accomplishements.
April 21, 2015
On Thursday, April 16th, the Department held the Writing Center's 40th Anniversary Celebration and Conference in Tawes Hall.
April 16, 2015
Listen on April 17 for the segment "Science on Screen, From Old to New"