People

News

September 13, 2019
Memorial services for each Virginia Beauchamp and Stanley Plumly will take place this month.
September 5, 2019
Brian Richardson published “Unnatural Narratology: An Overview” in Chinese translation in English Studies, spring 2019, 154-64. A short article, “La Narratologie nonnaturel,” was published online in Glossaire du RéNaF. He gave the keynote lecture, “Multiple Voices, Unruly Identities,” at a graduate student Conference at Cornell University last spring. He read a paper, “Killing Time: Theorizing the Temporality of Unruly Narratives,” at the International Narrative Conference at the University of Navarre in Pamplona in June. He gave an invited lecture, “Shakespeare, Conrad, and the Global Intertext,” at the Universitat Oberta de Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain, in June and gave three lectures on narrative theory at Jiao Tong University in Shanghai in July.
September 5, 2019
Jess Enoch (English, faculty), Katie Bramlett (English, PhD student), and Elizabeth Novara (former UMD curator) published "Decoding (a Woman's) Diaries: The Transcribe-a-thon as a Public Memory Project" in the May 2019 issue of College English. This essay reflects on their pedagogical work, which was supported by the English department's "Beyond the Classroom" grant, in which they collaborated with their students in their Women and Public Memory course to engage the UMD public in the digital transcription of Margaret Preston's diaries.
September 5, 2019
On October 12, Mark Fitzgerald will lead a poetry workshop at the Fall for the Book Festival in Fairfax, Virginia.
September 5, 2019
Martha Nell Smith will give an invited talk on the Humanities in the Digital Era at the Herrenhausen Symposium, participated in a roundtable he Emily Dickinson International Society (EDIS)’s International Conference, and had contributions featured in the New York Times and Washington Post.
September 5, 2019
Oliver Gaycken attended the XXVI Visible Evidence conference in Los Angeles in July, where he presented a paper about Fantastic Voyage and André Bazin's documentary aesthetics. He has been named a Senior Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study on Media Cultures of Computer Simulation at the Leuphana University of Lüneburg, where he will be in residence during the summer of 2020.  
August 30, 2019
Bob Levine gave recent talks on Melville and Douglass at NYU, UCLA, and the UniversidadeCatólica Portuguesa. He has essays forthcoming soon in J19, Cambridge Journal of Postcolonial Literary Inquiry, and Frederick Douglass in Context.
August 29, 2019
On October 24, 2019, Dr. Cheryl Spinner will be giving an invited talk, “Lincoln, the Clairvoyant: Representations of Spiritualism During the Civil War, 1861-Present,” at Cornell University’s American Studies Colloquium in Ithaca, NY. If you're in the area, please do come!
August 29, 2019
Matthew Kirschenbaum will present work at the 2019 Conference of the English Institute in October, as well as at the 11th meeting of the Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present (Oct. 10-12), and the 2019 American Printing History Association (Oct. 25-27), both hosted here on campus.
August 29, 2019
Professor emeritus Vincent Carretta's edition of The Writings of Phillis Wheatley will be published in the United Kingdom by Oxford University Press in October 2019. Prof. Carretta’s edition includes all of Phillis Wheatley's known writings, some of them only recently discovered.

Upcoming Events

Wed Sep 18

Sat Sep 21

7:30 PM
UMD Memorial Chapel

Tue Sep 24

Wed Sep 25

4:00 PM
2115 Tawes Hall

Thu Sep 26

3:00 PM

Fri Sep 27

11:00 AM
2115 Tawes Hall

Sat Sep 28

Thu Oct 3

2:00 PM
Edward St. John Learning and Teaching Center, Room 1309 (ESJ 1309)
3:30 PM
Tawes Hall

Thu Oct 10

8:30 AM
5:30 PM
Ulrich Recital Hall, 1121 Tawes Hall

Tue Oct 15

Wed Oct 16

Fri Oct 18

3:00 PM

Wed Oct 23

Sat Oct 26

Sun Oct 27

Fri Nov 1

3:00 PM

Fri Nov 8

3:00 PM

Mon Nov 11

11:00 AM
2115 Tawes

Wed Nov 13

3:30 PM

Fri Nov 22

3:00 PM

Wed Dec 4

3:30 PM
7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Fri Jan 31

3:00 PM
1123 Tawes Hall

Fri Feb 7

3:00 PM

Wed Feb 12

7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Fri Feb 14

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 21

3:00 PM
1123 Tawes Hall

Tue Feb 25

Fri Feb 28

3:00 PM

Fri Mar 6

3:00 PM

Wed Mar 11

7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Fri Mar 27

Wed Apr 1

7:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Ulrich Recital Hall

Fri Apr 3

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 10

5:00 PM
1123 Tawes Hall

Fri May 1

3:00 PM

Fri May 8

3:00 PM
1123 Tawes Hall

Thu Jul 16

Fri Mar 26

9:00 AM
TBD Tawes Hall