People

News

September 13, 2017
The Tessera--the NSF-funded game Kari Kraus and her collaborators launched last spring--will be showcased as an Indiecade 2017 Official Selection at this year's festival (press release here). 
September 5, 2017
Judith Krummeck spoke with Rudy about his forthcoming book, Imagined Homelands: British Poetry in the Colonies (Johns Hopkins UP, December 2017). 
August 8, 2017
Professor Zita Nunes received a three-year grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities
June 22, 2017
 Joshua Weiner read in a protest event this spring at the Queens Museum in Flushing that also launched the anthology, Resist Much/Obey Little, noted in a front page New York Times article about poetry and protest in the age of Trump.   
June 21, 2017
Amanda Bailey's new book, Affect Theory and Early Modern Texts: Politics, Ecologies, and Form, co-edited with Mario DiGangi came out last month, and she was also the recipient of the College of Arts and Humanities 2017 Faculty Service Award in recognition of her service in support of the department's and college's mission and vision. 
June 21, 2017
Bob Levine is leading a seminar on Melville's Israel Potter at the  late-June international Melville conference in London, and he's speaking on Douglass at the National Archives on July 3rd. His new book, Race, Transnationalism, and Nineteenth-Century American Literary Studies, is currently in production and will be published by Cambridge UP this fall.
June 21, 2017
Brian Richardson's review of Writing the Reader by Dorothee Birke appears in the current issue of Poetics Today.
June 21, 2017
Kellie Robertson gave two talks this spring related to her recently published book, Nature Speaks: Medieval Literature and Aristotelian Philosophy. The first was a plenary for a conference on “Posthuman Materialisms: Knowledge, Economy, Ecology” held at Georgetown University in early April; the second, entitled, “Why Not Nature?” was given at the International Congress on Medieval Studies at Western Michigan University in May. She was also honored to receive the Outstanding Faculty Service Award from UMD’s Graduate English Organization. gave two talks this spring related to her recently published book, Nature Speaks: Medieval Literature and Aristotelian Philosophy. The first was a plenary for a conference on “Posthuman Materialisms: Knowledge, Economy, Ecology” held at Georgetown University in early April; the second, entitled, “Why Not Nature?” was given at the International Congress on Medieval Studies at Western Michigan University in May. She was also honored to receive the Outstanding Faculty Service Award from UMD’s Graduate English Organization.
June 21, 2017
Matthew Kirschenbaum will be in Europe this summer to lecture and participate in a workshop at the University of Siegen, and then to deliver a plenary at the Electronic Literature Organization's annual conference in Porto. In August he will return to the Rare Book School at the University of Virginia to co-teach a week-long course in "Born-Digital Materials in Special Collections."
June 21, 2017
Peter Mallios’ essay “On Foreign Grounds: Towards an Alternative US Literary History, Archive, Methodology” appeared in the Summer 2017 issue of American Literary History. His review essay on the Cambridge Scholarly Edition of Joseph Conrad’s Victory will appear later this summer in The Conradian, The Conradian Reviews Online, and Editionen in der Kritik, and his essay “Reading The Secret Agent Now: The Press, the Police, the Premonition of Simulation,” was reprinted in the new Norton edition of The Secret Agent.

Upcoming Events

Sat Sep 23

7:30 PM
Wonderland Ballroom in DC

Mon Sep 25

4:30 PM
Ulrich Recital Hall in Tawes Hall

Tue Sep 26

12:30 PM

Fri Sep 29

1:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Tue Oct 3

12:30 PM
MITH Conference Room, Room 0301 Hornbake Library North

Fri Oct 6

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Tue Oct 10

12:30 PM
MITH Conference Room, Room 0301 Hornbake Library North

Wed Oct 11

Thu Oct 12

11:30 AM
1:30 PM
5:00 PM

Fri Oct 13

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3132

Tue Oct 17

Tue Oct 24

12:30 PM
MITH Conference Room, Room 0301 Hornbake Library North

Fri Oct 27

1:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3134

Tue Oct 31

12:30 PM
MITH Conference Room, Room 0301 Hornbake Library North

Wed Nov 1

Mon Nov 13

1:00 PM

Fri Nov 17

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Fri Dec 1

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Tue Dec 5

Thu Dec 7

Fri Dec 8

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Fri Jan 26

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 2

3:00 PM

Wed Feb 7

Fri Feb 9

Fri Feb 16

9:00 AM
3:00 PM

Fri Feb 23

Fri Mar 2

3:00 PM

Fri Mar 9

Wed Mar 14

Fri Mar 30

3:00 PM

Tue Apr 3

Wed Apr 4

2:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Wed Apr 11

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM
3:00 PM