Joshua Weiner elected Chair of the Writing Committee at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown

April 18, 2018

Congratulations to Professor Joshua Weiner, who was recently elected chair of the Writing Committee at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the premier residency in the U.S. for emerging artists and writers.

Serving as Chair of the Writing Committee at the FAWC is one of the major leadership positions in the arts. Professor Weiner will be succeeding Major Jackson. The committee includes writers such as Jhumpa Lahiri, Robert Pinsky, Claudia Rankine, Victor LaValle, Jaimy Gordon, Gregory Pardlo, and many others of equal repute (including our own Liz Arnold). The committee runs the writing side of the residency program, and Josh will be conducting two juries (in poetry and fiction respectively), made up of eight writers, each of which will read over 300 application manuscripts to pick four poets and four fiction writers for the winter residency that has run October to May every year since 1968. (The list of past fellows is quite extraordinary, from Louise Gl├╝ck to Denis Johnson in writing, to Jack Pierson, Ellen Gallagher, and Lisa Yuskavage on the visual side).