Department News

April 4, 2017
Tim Bruno received the Harriet Beecher Stowe Up and Coming Scholar Award from the Harriet Beecher Stowe Society. The award recognizes his paper, "Rewriting Douglass and Truth: Stowe's Independent and Atlantic Articles,” which he will present in May at the American Literature Association's annual conference.
March 29, 2017
The English Department is delighted to announce Gabrielle Fuentes, who is currently completing her Ph.D. at the University of Georgia, will be joining us this fall as a faculty member in the Program in Creative Writing. 
March 24, 2017
Lara Payne awarded a residency at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts in September 2016 and has a poem coming out in The Mom Egg Review in April 2017. She was recently added to the Maryland State Arts Council Artist in Residence Roster.
March 16, 2017
Bob Levine's recent publications include his coedited (with Cindy Weinstein) Norton Critical Edition of Melville's Pierre and an essay on Hawthorne and dueling in The Field of Honor (University of South Carolina Press). This semester he is giving talks on Frederick Douglass (who "is getting recognized more and more") at the University of Rochester, Texas A&M, Catholic University, and Smith College.
March 16, 2017
Ruth Osorio's second peer-reviewed publication is out in Rhetoric Review, titled "Embodying Truth: Sylvia Rivera’s Delivery of Parrhesia at the 1973 Christopher Street Liberation Day Rally.”
March 16, 2017
PhD Candidate Susanna Compton's essay "Sentimentalism and Secularism in Herman Melville's Pierre" is forthcoming in Leviathan: A Journal of Melville Studies.
March 15, 2017
The English Department is well represented at the NCTE's annual conference. 
March 12, 2017
Sara Faradji will be presenting her paper, “Good Reverberations: An Analysis on Translating African Literature” at the March 2017 Northeast Modern Language Association hosted by Johns Hopkins University. She will be participating in the panel, “Our Most Difficult Translations II.”
March 3, 2017
Students in Randy Ontiveros’ Literary Maryland course recently made the trip to the Riversdale House Museum in nearby Riverdale, MD.
February 28, 2017
An honorarium will be awarded by the Academy of American Poets for the best poem or group of poems by a University of Maryland student.