English 301

ENGLISH 301, Critical Methods in the Study of Literature, is the gateway course for the English major. English majors may not proceed to take upper level courses until they have first taken ENGL 301. The course is unlike other literature courses because it is process, not content, driven. Which is to say that it is not shaped by the traditional ways that literature courses are organized: time period, genre, author(s), nationality. In effect, English 301 has no “content,” only an array of skills and concepts that the English faculty agree are essential for our majors to master.

Please browse the content of these pages for additional information on ENGL301.

Library Research Tips from an Award-winning ENGL 301 Student

 

Upcoming Events

Sat Nov 18

7:30 PM
Wonderland Ballroom in Columbia Heights

Tue Nov 21

6:30 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Tue Nov 28

1:00 PM

Thu Nov 30

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Dec 1

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Tue Dec 5

Thu Dec 7

Fri Dec 8

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Mon Dec 11

4:30 PM
Ulrich Recital Hall in Tawes Hall

Thu Dec 14

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Thu Jan 18

Fri Jan 26

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 2

3:00 PM

Wed Feb 7

Fri Feb 9

Tue Feb 13

12:30 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Feb 16

9:00 AM
3:00 PM

Fri Feb 23

Fri Mar 2

3:00 PM

Fri Mar 9

Sat Mar 10

9:00 AM

Wed Mar 14

Fri Mar 30

3:00 PM

Tue Apr 3

Wed Apr 4

1:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Wed Apr 11

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM
3:00 PM

Thu Nov 8

Fri Nov 9