Academics

Academics

News

October 10, 2017
Ph.D. Candidate Danielle Griffin presented at the Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference in Dayton, OH on Oct. 7, 2017. The title of the talk was "'Considering the greatness of our number': The Collective Authorship of Women Servants in Seventeenth Century English Petitions
October 10, 2017
In August 2017 PhD Candidate Konstantinos Pozoukidis was granted the 2017-2018  Ahepa National-P.A. Margaronis Scholarship from the Ahepa Educational Foundation.
October 10, 2017
Maud Casey's story, "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea," appeared in The American Scholar and her story, "Two Inclinations," is forthcoming in Conjunctions. Her essay, "To Be Undone," appeared in a recent issue of New England Review. The essay is an excerpt from her book The Art of Mystery: The Search for Questions, to be published by Graywolf Press in January 2018. 
October 10, 2017
MFA Candidate in Fiction Emily Myrick won Fugue Journal's 2017 Writing Contest with her story "Some Whales Have Hearts the Size of Volkswagen Beetles", selected by Edan Lepucki. Her essay "Even Silence" was published in the fall issue of Muse/A Journal. 
October 10, 2017
Bob Levine has given recent talks at Notre Dame and McDaniel College. His July presentation on Douglass at the National Archives has been airing on C-Span. He is the General Editor of the 9th edition of two-volume The Shorter Norton Anthology of American Literature, which was published last month
October 5, 2017
In September, Danuta Hinc published an essay, THE LESSONS OF MY CHILDHOOD IN COMMUNIST POLAND ARE RELEVANT AGAIN, DANUTA HINC ON PROPAGANDA, MARTIAL LAW, AND PROTECTING THE TRUTH. 
October 5, 2017
Jeremy Metz (Ph.D. in Comparative Literature, 2016) has joined the upper school English faculty of The Potomac School in McLean, VA, where he is also serving as assistant debate coach.
October 5, 2017
The National Archives hosted a dramatic reading of an 1852 speech by former slave and abolitionist leader Frederick Douglass on the meaning of American independence to slaves, sometimes called, “What to a Slave is the Fourth of July?” Professor ​Robert Levine was invited to participate in the event. 
October 5, 2017
Amanda Fiore had a short story, "D,"  published in the New Orleans Review, which is published out of the Department of English at Loyola University New Orleans. 
September 14, 2017
Lindsay Bernal, whose poetry collection What It Doesn't Have to Do With is forthcoming from the University of Georgia Press, has been selected for the 2017 National Poetry Series competition.

Upcoming Events

Thu Oct 19

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Oct 20

9:00 AM
First Floor Lobby, Tawes Hall

Mon Oct 23

Tue Oct 24

12:30 PM
MITH Conference Room, Room 0301 Hornbake Library North
1:00 PM

Fri Oct 27

1:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3134

Tue Oct 31

12:30 PM
MITH Conference Room, Room 0301 Hornbake Library North

Thu Nov 2

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Nov 10

9:00 AM
2115 Tawes Hall and First and Second Floor Lobbies
1:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3134

Sat Nov 11

9:00 AM
2115 Tawes Hall and First and Second Floor Lobbies

Thu Nov 16

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Nov 17

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Tue Nov 28

1:00 PM

Thu Nov 30

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Dec 1

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2123

Tue Dec 5

Thu Dec 7

Fri Dec 8

3:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 3136

Thu Dec 14

5:00 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Jan 26

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 2

3:00 PM

Wed Feb 7

Fri Feb 9

Fri Feb 16

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 23

Fri Mar 2

3:00 PM

Fri Mar 9

Sat Mar 10

9:00 AM

Wed Mar 14

Fri Mar 30

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Wed Apr 11

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM
3:00 PM