Academics

Academics

News

December 7, 2017
Professor Howard Norman's latest novel My Darling Detective was included on NPR's 2017 "Best Books" list. The book wasrecommended by Robert Siegal, host of All Things Considered. 
November 30, 2017
The MFA Program in Creative Writing is pleased to announce its nominees for AWP's IntroJournals Project, an annual literary competition for the discovery and publication of new work by students currently enrolled in creative writing programs around the country. 
November 28, 2017
Please join us in congratulating Doug Kern and Jess Enoch, the first recipients of the John Long Innovative Teaching Award!  Each award is $1500. 
November 28, 2017
Congratulations to Professor Josh Weiner, Professor Gabrielle Fuentes, and Professor Randy Ontiveros for receicing Creative and Performing Arts and Research and Scholarship Awards from the Graduate School for 2018-19. Continue reading to learn more about their projects. 
November 8, 2017
Praise for her second poetry volume -Crumb Sized- in the -Chicago Review of Books.-
October 31, 2017
English Major Sarah Schurman is the recipient of the 2017 Dean's Senior Scholar Award. The award committee cites her distinguished academic performance, leadership qualities, and commitment to community. 
October 30, 2017
Christopher Suarez presented "Jimi Hendrix and His Muse: "Manic Depression," "Little Wing," & "Voodoo Chile"' at the ALSCW Conference on October 26-29 at Dallas University, in Dallas, Texas.
October 25, 2017
Cameron Mozafari and Michael Israel presented a paper, "More than a Feeling: Frame Metonymy and Cultural Scripts in Persuasive Communication," at the 14th International Cognitive Linguistics Conference, held in Tartu, Estonia.  The talk uses classical rhetorical concepts, corpus methods, and Cognitive Grammar to model how rhetors coordinate evaluations and beliefs with their audiences to make them recognize cultural knowledge about what makes people emotional. Cameron was also nominated for and accepted the position of Junior Scholar on the International Cognitive Linguistics Association governing board.
October 25, 2017
Faculty, students, and alumni gavepapers at the October Feminisms and Rhetorics Conference at the University of Dayton. 
October 25, 2017
On October 7, Gabriela presented on a panel with Danielle Griffin and Elizabeth Miller at the Feminisms and Rhetorics conference hosted by the University of Dayton (Dayton, Ohio). The title of Gabriela's presentation was "Collections and Collective Performances in Madeleine de Scudéry’s Les Femmes illustres."

Upcoming Events

Wed Dec 20

11:30 AM
The Clarice, Dekelboum Hall

Fri Jan 26

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 2

3:00 PM

Wed Feb 7

Fri Feb 9

Tue Feb 13

12:30 PM
Tawes Hall, Room 2115

Fri Feb 16

3:00 PM

Fri Feb 23

Fri Mar 2

3:00 PM

Fri Mar 9

Sat Mar 10

9:00 AM

Wed Mar 14

Fri Mar 30

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 6

Wed Apr 11

Fri Apr 13

3:00 PM

Fri Apr 27

3:00 PM

Sat Apr 28

10:00 AM
Tawes Plaza, Art Gallery ASY

Fri May 4

10:00 AM
3:00 PM

Thu Nov 8

Fri Nov 9